Architects to Honor Melanie Hennigan, AIA, and Raymond Skinner with Kea Medal at October 17 Design Awards Celebration

Kea Medal Recognizes Leadership, Advocacy and Service to the Design Profession

COLLEGE PARK, MD, September 10, 2014 – AIA Potomac Valley, a Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, will present the Paul H. Kea Medal to two outstanding community leaders at the chapter’s Design Awards Celebration on Friday, October 17 at the Silver Spring Civic Building. This will be the 10th class of Kea Medal awardees.

Melanie Hennigan, AIA LEED AP, President of Grimm + Parker Architects, will receive the Kea Medal for Leadership and Service to the Profession. The state-of-the-art concepts and commitment to exceptional design she has brought to public libraries and schools in the region has elevated role of their role as community resources. Hennigan led the AIA Potomac Valley chapter as president for two terms in 2006 and 2007, and has served on the boards of the chapter’s educational foundation, the AIA Maryland state chapter, and the Maryland State Architectural Review Board.

Raymond A. Skinner, Maryland Secretary of Housing and Community Development, will receive the Kea Medal for Leadership and Architectural Advocacy. Through his service during two administrations, Secretary Skinner tackled the challenges of making hospitable and affordable communities for the citizens of Maryland.  His leadership and vision advanced the quality and quantity of housing in the State and set the standard for sustainable communities for generations.  His stellar public service made the public aware that beauty and affordability are not competing attributes.

The Paul H. Kea Medal recognizes architects or non-architects in related fields who have made a significant and exemplary contribution to the profession, either through a body of work or a single contribution of great scope. Recipients may be cited for Service to the Profession; Leadership; or Architectural Advocacy that has furthered the public’s awareness or appreciation of design excellence. Hennigan and Skinner join these previous honorees:

2013 – Carlo Colella, LEED AP – Architectural Advocacy; Carl Elefante, FAIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession

2012 – Samuel J. Parker, Jr., AICP – Leadership; John A. Carter, AIA – Architectural Advocacy

2010 – Dr. Royce Hanson – Leadership, Architectural Advocacy

2009 – Rollin B. Stanley – Architectural Advocacy; John M. Maudlin-Jeronimo, FAIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession

2007- John Torti, FAIA – Leadership; William Bechhoefer – Service to the Profession;Eliot Pfanstiehl – Architectural Advocacy

2006 – Marshall Purnell, FAIA – Leadership; John P. Salmen, AIA – Service to the Profession; Douglas M. Duncan – Architectural Advocacy

2004 – Karl F. G. Du Puy – Architectural Advocacy; Steven W. Hurtt, AIA – Leadership; Steven J. Karr, AIA – Service to the Profession

2003 – Daniel W. Bennett, Jr, AIA – Service to the Profession; Richard G. Hawes – Architectural Advocacy; Stephen L. Parker, AIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession, Architectural Advocacy

2002 – Ralph D. Bennett, AIA – Leadership; John F. Corkill, Jr., AIA – Service to the Profession; Roger K. Lewis, FAIA – Architectural Advocacy

The award is named in honor of Paul H. Kea, FAIA, (1886-1968) who began practicing architecture in 1912, moved to Hyattsville, Maryland, and founded the firm Kea, Shaw, Grimm & Crichton, a precursor to today’s Grimm + Parker Architects. His firm built numerous banks, churches, schools and commercial buildings. A founding member of AIA Potomac Valley, Kea served as President of the Maryland Society of Architects and became a Fellow of the AIA (FAIA) in 1960. He served as President of the Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce and served on numerous church committees and community boards. He took a strong interest in architectural education and funded a Distinguished Professorship at the University of Maryland.

The AIA Potomac Valley 2014 Design Awards Celebration takes place on Friday, October 17 at 6:30 pm at the Silver Spring Civic Building. The program will include the presentation of Design Awards by jury chair Steve Dumez, FAIA of Eskew+Dumez+Ripple in New Orleans, winner of the 2014 AIA Firm Award, as well as the recognition of scholarships given to four students attending the University of Maryland School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. Bob Borson, AIA, creator of Life of an Architect, one of the most widely read architecture blogs on the Internet, will serve as Master of Ceremonies. More information about the 2014 Design Awards Celebration is available online at

# # #

The title “Architect” means a person with a professional degree in Architecture who is licensed by a state to practice the profession of architecture.  As members of the AIA, licensed Architects and Architectural express their commitment to quality design and livability in our built environments. Only licensed Architects who are members of the AIA may use the initials “AIA” after their names. Architectural interns who are not yet licensed may be members of the AIA and use the term “Associate AIA” after their names.

The AIA Potomac Valley chapter is making a better environment through leadership in architecture:  we empower our members to advance their roles in service to society; we act as a collective voice to help cultivate the future of the architectural profession; we foster innovation & sustainability in design; and we serve as a knowledge resource for our members and the public, raising awareness of the value of the architecture profession. The chapter serves more than 500 members in Allegany, Charles, Frederick, Garrett, Montgomery, Prince George’s and Washington counties in Maryland.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is the largest and most influential professional association for Architects, Architectural interns, and those directly involved with the practice of architecture in the world. Based in Washington, DC, the AIA has nearly 300 state and local chapters representing more than 83,000 members, including a majority of licensed Architects in the United States.