M-NCPPC’s Clare Lise Kelly To Receive 2015 Kea Medal

Kea Medal Is Chapter’s Highest Honor, Recognizes Leadership, Advocacy and Service to the Design Profession

COLLEGE PARK, MD, September 15, 2015 – AIA Potomac Valley, a Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, will present this year’s Paul H. Kea Medal for Architectural Advocacy to architectural historian Clare Lise Kelly, Research and Designation Coordinator for the Historic Preservation Office of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission. Kelly will receive the Medal, AIA Potomac Valley’s highest honor, at the chapter’s annual Design Awards Celebration, Celebrate Design, on Thursday, October 22 at the Silver Spring Civic Building.

Kelly has written extensively about the architectural history of Montgomery County and most recently authored the book Montgomery Modern: Modern Architecture in Montgomery County, Maryland, 1930-1979, to be published next month. She is also the author of Places from the Past: The Tradition of Gardez Bien in Montgomery County, a book that inventories historic sites and districts in Montgomery County, which won a Maryland Historical Trust Heritage Education award. She was the 2013 recipient of Montgomery Preservation Inc.’s Montgomery Prize.

Kelly established the M-NCPPC Montgomery Modern initiative in 2013 to raise awareness of mid-century modern architecture, working with AIA Potomac Valley to co-present several popular educational events on this topic for architects and the public, and earning education awards from the Maryland Historical Trust and Montgomery Preservation, Inc.

The Paul H. Kea Medal recognizes architects or non-architects in related fields who have made a significant and exemplary contribution to the profession, either through a body of work or a single contribution of great scope. Recipients may be cited for Service to the Profession; Leadership; or Architectural Advocacy that has furthered the public’s awareness or appreciation of design excellence. Kelly joins these previous honorees:

2014 – Melanie Hennigan, AIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession; Raymond Skinner, Leadership, Architectural Advocacy

2013 – Carlo Colella, LEED AP – Architectural Advocacy; Carl Elefante, FAIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession

2012 – Samuel J. Parker, Jr., AICP – Leadership; John A. Carter, AIA – Architectural Advocacy

2010 – Dr. Royce Hanson – Leadership, Architectural Advocacy

2009 – Rollin B. Stanley – Architectural Advocacy; John M. Maudlin-Jeronimo, FAIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession

2007 – John Torti, FAIA – Leadership; William Bechhoefer – Service to the Profession; Eliot Pfanstiehl – Architectural Advocacy

2006 – Marshall Purnell, FAIA – Leadership; John P. Salmen, AIA – Service to the Profession; Douglas M. Duncan – Architectural Advocacy

2004 – Karl F. G. Du Puy – Architectural Advocacy; Steven W. Hurtt, AIA – Leadership; Steven J. Karr, AIA – Service to the Profession

2003 – Daniel W. Bennett, Jr, AIA – Service to the Profession; Richard G. Hawes – Architectural Advocacy; Stephen L. Parker, AIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession, Architectural Advocacy

2002 – Ralph D. Bennett, AIA – Leadership; John F. Corkill, Jr., AIA – Service to the Profession; Roger K. Lewis, FAIA – Architectural Advocacy

The award is named in honor of Paul H. Kea, FAIA, (1886-1968) who began practicing architecture in 1912, moved to Hyattsville, Maryland, and founded the firm Kea, Shaw, Grimm & Crichton, a precursor to today’s Grimm + Parker Architects. His firm built numerous banks, churches, schools and commercial buildings. A founding member of AIA Potomac Valley, Kea served as President of the Maryland Society of Architects and became a Fellow of the AIA (FAIA) in 1960. He served as President of the Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce and served on numerous church committees and community boards. He took a strong interest in architectural education and funded a Distinguished Professorship at the University of Maryland.

Celebrate Design takes place on Thursday, October 22 at 6:30 pm at the Silver Spring Civic Building. The celebration will bring together urban designers, architects, landscape architects, planners, developers, builders, policymakers, elected officials, design professionals, artists and interested community members from across Montgomery County and the region for a joint presentation of the AIA Potomac Valley Design Awards and the Montgomery County Planning Department’s Design Excellence Award. More information about the 2015 Design Awards Celebration is available online at www.aiapv.org.

The title “Architect” means a person with a professional degree in Architecture who is licensed by a state to practice the profession of architecture.  As members of the AIA, licensed Architects and Architectural express their commitment to quality design and livability in our built environments. Only licensed Architects who are members of the AIA may use the initials “AIA” after their names. Architectural interns who are not yet licensed may be members of the AIA and use the term “Associate AIA” after their names.

The AIA Potomac Valley chapter is making a better environment through leadership in architecture:  we empower our members to advance their roles in service to society; we act as a collective voice to help cultivate the future of the architectural profession; we foster innovation & sustainability in design; and we serve as a knowledge resource for our members and the public, raising awareness of the value of the architecture profession. The chapter serves more than 540 members in Allegany, Charles, Frederick, Garrett, Montgomery, Prince George’s and Washington counties in Maryland.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is the largest and most influential professional association for Architects, Architectural interns, and those directly involved with the practice of architecture in the world. Based in Washington, DC, the AIA has nearly 300 state and local chapters representing more than 83,000 members, including a majority of licensed Architects in the United States.