Press Releases


Local Architects To Honor Two Educators with 2016 Kea Medal


Local Architects To Honor Two Educators with 2016 Kea Medal
Kea Medal Is Chapter’s Highest Honor, Recognizes Leadership, Advocacy and Service to the Design Profession

COLLEGE PARK, MD, September 28, 2016 – David Cronrath, AIA, Professor and Dean of the School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at the University of Maryland, andRandy Steiner, AIA, Coordinator of the Architecture Program at Montgomery College, will each be honored with the Paul H. Kea Medal, the highest honor given by AIA Potomac Valley, a Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

The awards will be given at the annual Celebrate Design event, co-hosted with the Montgomery County Planning Department, on Thursday, October 20 at the Silver Spring Civic Building. In addition to the Kea Medal presentations, Celebrate Design features the presentation of AIA Potomac Valley Design Awards and the Montgomery County Design Excellence Awards.

David Cronrath has been an architecture practitioner, educator and administrator for over 25 years and Dean of the School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at University of Maryland since 2010. He will step down from that position on October 1, 2016 and remain on the School’s faculty. He was previously Dean of the College of Art and Design at Louisiana State University. In recognition of his work on improving the path to licensure for architecture school graduates across the country and his success in strengthening the School’s relationships within the University and throughout the regional design community,David Cronrath will receive the Paul H. Kea Medal for Leadership and Service to the Profession.

Randy Steiner has been the coordinator of the Architecture Program at Montgomery College for over 25 years.  Her passion for teaching motivated her to create the Coalition of Community College Architecture Programs in 2012 to widen the pathway and increase diversity within the architectural profession. In recognition of the many leadership offices she has held with AIA Potomac Valley and the affiliated Potomac Valley Architecture Foundation, as well as her success in creating partnerships for Montgomery College with regional schools of architecture and the design community, Randy Steiner will receive the Paul H. Kea Medal for Leadership and Architectural Advocacy.

The Paul H. Kea Medal recognizes architects or non-architects in related fields who have made a significant and exemplary contribution to the profession, either through a body of work or a single contribution of great scope. Recipients may be cited for Service to the Profession; Leadership; or Architectural Advocacy that has furthered the public’s awareness or appreciation of design excellence. Cronrath and Steiner join these previous honorees:

2015 – Clare Lise Kelly – Architectural Advocacy

2014 – Melanie Hennigan, AIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession; Raymond Skinner, Leadership, Architectural Advocacy

2013 – Carlo Colella, LEED AP – Architectural Advocacy; Carl Elefante, FAIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession

2012 – Samuel J. Parker, Jr., AICP – Leadership; John A. Carter, AIA – Architectural Advocacy

2010 – Dr. Royce Hanson – Leadership, Architectural Advocacy

2009 – Rollin B. Stanley – Architectural Advocacy; John M. Maudlin-Jeronimo, FAIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession

2007 – John Torti, FAIA – Leadership; William Bechhoefer – Service to the Profession; Eliot Pfanstiehl – Architectural Advocacy

2006 – Marshall Purnell, FAIA – Leadership; John P. Salmen, AIA – Service to the Profession; Douglas M. Duncan – Architectural Advocacy

2004 – Karl F. G. Du Puy – Architectural Advocacy; Steven W. Hurtt, AIA – Leadership; Steven J. Karr, AIA – Service to the Profession

2003 – Daniel W. Bennett, Jr, AIA – Service to the Profession; Richard G. Hawes – Architectural Advocacy; Stephen L. Parker, AIA – Leadership, Service to the Profession, Architectural Advocacy

2002 – Ralph D. Bennett, AIA – Leadership; John F. Corkill, Jr., AIA – Service to the Profession; Roger K. Lewis, FAIA – Architectural Advocacy

The award is named in honor of Paul H. Kea, FAIA, (1886-1968) who began practicing architecture in 1912, moved to Hyattsville, Maryland, and founded the firm Kea, Shaw, Grimm & Crichton, a precursor to today’s Grimm + Parker Architects. His firm built numerous banks, churches, schools and commercial buildings. A founding member of AIA Potomac Valley, Kea served as President of the Maryland Society of Architects and became a Fellow of the AIA (FAIA) in 1960. He served as President of the Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce and served on numerous church committees and community boards. He took a strong interest in architectural education and funded a Distinguished Professorship at the University of Maryland.

More information about Celebrate Design 2016 is available online at

The title “Architect” means a person with a professional degree in Architecture who is licensed by a state to practice the profession of architecture.  As members of the AIA, licensed Architects and Architectural express their commitment to quality design and livability in our built environments. Only licensed Architects who are members of the AIA may use the initials “AIA” after their names. Architectural interns who are not yet licensed may be members of the AIA and use the term “Associate AIA” after their names.

The AIA Potomac Valley chapter is making a better environment through leadership in architecture:  we empower our members to advance their roles in service to society; we act as a collective voice to help cultivate the future of the architectural profession; we foster innovation & sustainability in design; and we serve as a knowledge resource for our members and the public, raising awareness of the value of the architecture profession. The chapter serves more than 550 members in Allegany, Charles, Frederick, Garrett, Montgomery, Prince George’s and Washington counties in Maryland.

Contact: Renee Catacalos, Executive Director; 301.935.5544